Spaghetti Squash Pasta

11 Jan

My new winter pasta replacement – spaghetti squash! It’s a great low-calorie, low-carb alternative to noodles that’s packed with fiber, vitamins and minerals. Note that carbs are not the enemy – excessive Italian dinners loaded with three cups of refined noodles and half a loaf of garlic bread are the issue.

Most people will look at one of these and wonder where in the world to begin (as did I). They’re very hard to cut, so I like to stick it whole in the microwave for 2-3 minutes to soften it up.

Then, you have two options to bake it:
In the oven (takes up to an hour) or in the microwave (about 10 minutes).

Then I normally top with some marinara sauce and turkey meatballs made ahead of time and frozen – couldn’t be an easier meal!

 

Question :://::

What’s your favorite ‘clean’ pasta sauce?

4 Responses to “Spaghetti Squash Pasta”

  1. Nicole January 12, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    I just tried making spaghetti squash about a month or 2 ago, and I loved it. Some people tell me they don’t though. I tried a tomato olive sauce on it with parmesan, and thought it went well.

    • Brittany Glassett, RD January 12, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

      I actually didn’t like it the first time I tried it! I like marinara just fine on it, but a spinach sauce I tried didn’t taste quite right…but I just think the sauce wasn’t very good. but tomato olive sauce sounds great!

      • Stacey January 12, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

        My sister said she found a great pork stir fry with spaghetti squash, i have yet to try it but i do love it with red sauce and meatballs! Thanks for the information

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tofu Butternut Squash Tomato Sauce Over Spaghetti Squash « Nutrition in a Nutshell - February 16, 2011

    […] One. Cut squash in half lengthwise; remove seeds. Place cut side down in a 13 x 9 microwave safe dish. Add 1/4 cup water to dish. Microwave on high for 10-13 minutes or until tender. Can also bake in the oven. […]

Leave a Reply

