Super filling breakfast

1 Feb

The BEST way to start the day…

Kinda blurry, but it’s my all-time favorite AM oats:

  • 1/3 cup oat bran made with 1 cup water
  • 1T flaxseed meal
  • 2 egg whites (add in oats after 1 min of cooking with 2 min left)
  • 1tsp cinnamon
  • 1Tbsp almond butter
  • 3/4 cup frozen blueberries (no sugar added)
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree

And my chai tea steeped in almond milk. Yep, the coffee maker has been sitting clean & pristine on the counter for one WHOLE WEEK.

I did REALLY miss coffee yesterday, I was especially tired after working 7 days in a row (yay for one day off today!). But I am also really enjoying the Vanilla Chai and steeping it in almond milk satisfies my creamy AM beverage craving. This breakfast, all for less than my allotted 400 calories, actually fills me up and tastes like dessert (I actually crave this meal more than sweets, which is saying A LOT). And a quick oats lesson – I chose oat bran vs Scottish oats (which have similar structure) because, gram for gram, it has the same amount of calories, a little more fat, more protein, more fiber and less carbs.

Breakfast Stats :: 390 calories, 15gm fat, 4gm poly, 6 gm mono, 1 gm satured, 269mg sodium, 528mg potassium, 45gm carbs, 14gm fiber, 13gm sugar, 20gm protein

Bonus :: 300% daily value vitamin A (thank you pumpkin!), 23% dv calcium, 24% dv iron
Time to make more almond butter!

Question :: What’s your favorite oats combo? Anyone as addicted as I am??

One Response to “Super filling breakfast”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Healthy Super Bowl Snacks « Nutrition in a Nutshell - February 8, 2011

    […] started out with my usual oat bran and had a yummy salad for lunch. To make sure it would fill me up, I loaded it up […]

Leave a Reply

